Nzukọ Arochukwu prepares for Rights of Passage as Eze Aro ‘enters’ Ovia Uwasi’

Update on ‘Ovia Uwasi’ Eze Aro

Following the announcement of Eze Aro’s Ovia Uwasi, the Ezecutive Committee of Nzuko Arochukwu has held series of consultations with the family, Eze Ibom Isii, Eze Eze Agwu n’Okwara Agwu, national patrons and Nde Ogo.

The meetings reviewed the state of affairs in the kingdom and how to ensure proper rites of passage for our sage in the best Aro tradition.

The meetings were able to restore peace among the Arianzu, Eze Ibom Isii, Eze Ezeagwu n’Okwara Agwu and Nde Ezeogo. They committed to henceforth work together for the progress of the Kingdom.

Three months period of mourning has been declared with effect from 26th December, 2020.

To this end, the traditional activities of ARO DAY will not hold. In its place, there will be a road rally through the 19 villages in honor of the departed Eze. (Details will be announced soon).

Similarly, all villages are directed to cancel activities to mark the village day for 2020.

(Please, note that ceremonies by individuals and families such as weddings and burials are not affected).

Nzuko Arochukwu, therefore, sets up a national rites of passage committee (Aro National Burial Committee) to plan and execute the series of events and ceremonies that will be the pride of every Aro.

Please see the details below:

Following the transition of the custodian of Aro heritage, Eze Aro, Mazi Ogbonnaya Okoro, CFR, after wide consultations with the Aro traditional institution, and Nde Aro at home and in disapora, the Executive Committee of Nzuko Arochukwu, hereby sets up Aro National Burial Committee and Sub-Committees with the following members:

Mazi (Prof.) Okoro Ijoma, Chairman

Mazi EKO Ivi

Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa

Dr. O. J. Nnanna

Hon. Justice Anyalewechi Onwuchekwa

Mazi Dave Imoko

Mazi Arc. Chima Chijioke

Dr. Ochi Achinivu

Sen. Mao Ohuabunwa

Mazi Dr. Alex Otti

Mazi Nnamdi Udoh

Sir Chikwe Udensi

Mazi Emmauel Kanu

Mazi Jideofor Orji

Hon. Mike Ukoha

Mazi Lawson Obasi

Mazi Ike Okoronkwo

Mazi S.I.C. Okoli

Dr. Okoro Ukpabi

Barr. Chijioke Orji

Dr. Okey Onyeador

Mazi Frank Agodi

Dr. Emma Nwadeyi

Mazi George Ezuma

Mazi Chris Okoro

Mazi Goddy Ijeomah

Dr. Uche Orji

Mazi Bank Anthony Okorafor

Dr Okey Ijomanta

DIG Ivy Okoronkwo

Hon. Mrs. Nwada Igwe

Hon. Nnanna Ngwu

Lady Bright Elekwa

Barr. Mrs Carol Okorafor

Prof Nnenna Nkanno

Mazi Okereke Okpara

Barr. Joy Chiori

Mazi Anicho S. Okoro, member/secretary

*Terms of Reference *
1) To organise a befitting burial for our departed sage.
2) To mobilize resources for the funeral ceremonies.
3) To supervise and monitor the sub- committees for effective delivery.
4) To take other steps necessary to ensure that our revered monarch is laid to rest in the proper way.

*Sub committees *
A. Contact/ Protocol Members:

Mazi Dozie Udensi – Chairman

Mazi Ernie Onwumere, Secretary

Mazi Naira Okorafor

Prof. Alex Ugwumba

Hon. Mike Ukoha

Mazi Frank Agodi

Hon. Mrs Nwada Igwe

Mazi Chekwas Oti

Terms of Reference
To identify and contact all relevant governments, communities and dignitaries to participate in the ceremonies.
B. Publicity/ Publications Members:

Mazi Ugochukwu Okoroafor, Chairman

Dr Orji O. Orji – Member

Dr Azubuike Okoro

Mazi Okey Imuoh

Mazi Okoro Nwaka

Mazi Chijioke Ogbonnaya

Barr. Eustace Njaka, Secretary

Terms of Reference

To ensure adequate pre and post event publicity.

To produce a souvenir brochure for the event.

To identify and engage masters of ceremonies.

To take other steps necessary to ensure that the events are appropriately documented/archived for the present and future.

C. Venue Members:

Mazi Ike Onu – Chairman

Barr King Nwosu – Member

Mazi Chidi Uche Okoro, Secretary

Mazi Julius Imuoh

Dr Kenneth Ngwogu

Mazi Aniche Abah

Mazi Okoronkwo Asonta

Mazi Uche Oti

Terms of Reference

To identify and put in proper shape all the venues for the ceremonies.

To ensure adequate arrangements are made for guests.

D. Culture/Entertainment Members:

Mazi Ijoma Obasi Ijoma – Chairman

Prof. Nnenna Kanno

Mazi Donalson Nworgu- Member

Mazi Kanu Oji

Dr (Mrs) Helen Ukpabi

Mazi Chimere Ikenga

Princess Dr. Nnennaya Onoh

Mazi Ciiff Orji

Mrs Grace Okaro

Mazi Torty PG Agbagwu

Mrs Charity Oti, Secretary

Terms of reference

To arrange manage entertainment of guests at the events.

To identify and get relevant traditional dances, masquerades and performances to showcase at the ceremonies.

E. Finance Members:

Dr. Alex Otti – Chairman

Mazi George Ezuma

Mazi Ike Okoronkwo

Mazi Lawson Obasi

Mazi Chimezie Orji

Dr. Emma Nwadeyi

Dr. Uche Orji

Mazi Goddy Ijeomah

Mazi Ikechukwu Okafor

Sir Adindu G. Elekwa, Secretary

Terms of Reference

To source and manage funds raised for the event/ceremonies.

*F. Security Sub-Committee Members:

DIG Ivy Okoronkwo, Chairman

Sir Chikwe Udensi

Dr Kanu Ohuche

Mazi Nkem Okoro

ACP Mbadiwe

Mazi Jerry Onwumere

Mazi Nwosu Nwaka, Secretary

Terms of Reference:

To ensure adequate security for the events.

Nzuko Aro seeks the support of Umu Aro especially, during this period of mourning.

Mazi George Ezuma
President General

Mazi Anicho S. Okoro
Secretary General

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s